Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Thornhill Avenue, Belper, Derbyshire DE56 1SH

Tel: 01773 822771


Herbert Strutt Primary School

We Care, Challenge, Achieve and Open Minds

School Council


The School council is one of the ways that children can become leaders at our school. An annual "Hustings" is held in September, to elect the chair and secretary. There is a class council every week, the members were voted on by their class; the School Council meets with Mr Banks, every third week. Suggestion boxes are in every class for children to write their ideas down and these are emptied and discussed at class councils, with ideas taken to the full meeting by the class chair and secretary.     

Members of the School Council this year are:

Year 1: 

Year 2: 

Year 3: 

Year 4: 

Year 5: 

Year 6:                                                                                                                                                                       

This year the School Council Chair is ... (Y6) and the Secretary is ... (Y6)

They were chosen as they received the most votes after the "Hustings" in assembly, where various Y6 children stood for election.

 What we achieved last year:

  • Year 2 Councillors, Maya and Ellis, managed to get a "Friendship bench" for the KS1 playground. It is under the "Buddy stop" and is already being well used!
  • After lots of discussion about fundraising-who we should raise money for and what events we should do as a school, we decided to let each class choose. The governors agreed to "loan" £30 to each class to use as a business. Each class choose what events they would run over the year and which charities they would raise money for.


Last update: 2017-09-20